Busy Transfer Window For Pat Fenlon



It’s been a busy summer period for Pat Fenlon, with an incredible 26 players leaving or arriving at the club.

Of last year’s squad, fans’ favourite Leigh Griffiths returned to parent club Wolverhampton Wanderers where he has since signed a contract extension after making an impressive start to the season, whilst striking partner Eoin Doyle has joined Chesterfield.

David Wotherspoon moved to home town team St Johnstone after his contract expired, whilst Gambian full back Pa Kujabi and Finnish striker Shefki Kuqi are currently looking for new clubs.

Gary Deegan returned down south and signed for Northampton Town and Martin ‘Jimmy’ Scott who had been on loan to Ross County has joined Livingston. On loan winger Matt Done returned to parent club Barnsley.

Hopes that Jorge Claros would return for another loan spell have gone and he will return to his parent club CD Motagua.

Liam Craig joined Hibs from St Johnstone after agreeing a pre-contract deal last January, and he has been joined by former Saints’ team-mate Rowan Vine.

Owain Tudor Jones joined from Inverness Caledonian Thistle and Michael Nelson arrived from Bradford City.

Northern Ireland international Ryan McGivern returned to Easter Road after being freed by Manchester City, and Kevin Thomson who joined the club and played without wages last term after leaving Middlesbrough by mutual consent, signed a permanent deal.

Former Hearts’ full-back Fraser Mullen signed a one year deal after being freed at Tynecastle and James Collins arrived from Swindon Town for an undisclosed fee.

Just before the window closed, Paul Heffernan signed from Kilmarnock and French winger Abdellah Zoubir agreed a loan deal until the end of the season from FC Istres.

Players in (alphabetical order)

James Collins (transfer from Swindon Town for undisclosed fee)

Liam Craig (transfer from St Johnstone)

Paul Heffernan (transfer from Kilmarnock)

Owain Tudur Jones (transfer from Inverness Caledonian Thistle)

Ryan McGivern (signed on permanent basis from Man City)

Fraser Mullen (transfer from Heart of Midlothian)

Sean Murdoch (signed a new contract)

Michael Nelson (transfer from Bradford City for undisclosed fee)

Kevin Thomson (signed a new contract)

Rowan Vine (transfer from St Johnstone)

Abdellah Zoubir (loan until the end of the season from FC Istres)

Players out (alphabetical order)

Calum Antell – contract expired

Jorge Claros – loan spell ended and returned to CD Motagua

Gary Deegan – contract expired

Bradley Donaldson – loaned to Arbroath until January

Matt Done – loan spell ended and returned to Barnsley

Eoin Doyle – contract expired

Paul Grant – loaned to Berwick Rangers until January

Leigh Griffiths – loan spell ended and returned to Wolverhampton Wanderers

Lewis Horner – contract ended by mutual consent

Pa Saikou Kujabi – contract expired

Shefki Kuqi – contract expired

Harry Monaghan – contract expired

Martin Scott – contract ended by mutual consent

Scott Smith – contract expired

David Wotherspoon – contract expired

The club have since issued a statement on the official website thanking all the players leaving Easter Road for the contribution they’ve made and  wishing them every success in the future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: