Gibson Aims For Irish Return Following Trap Dismissal

Darron-Gibson-Republic-of-Ireland_2723137

Everton star Darron Gibson is prepared to end his self-imposed Irish exile following the departure of manager Giovanni Trapattoni.

The 25-year-old Derry born midfielder made himself unavailable for his country since returning from Euro 2012 , where he didn’t feature as Ireland crashed to three straight defeats.

He has however revealed he is now available to return to the set up under a new manager , with Martin O’Neill still in pole position to replace the wily Italian.

Gibson is one of a handful of players who may now return to the Irish set up with exiled trio Stephen Ireland ,Kevin Foley and Andy Reid all in contention for a recall.

Speaking to The Irish Times Gibson said

“I never really wanted to make a big deal of it to be honest with you. But after what happened at the Euros, I just felt I couldn’t play under him anymore.

“I didn’t want to make a big deal about not playing under him… but I am available to come back now.”

“I was embarrassed when I came back from the Euros [after] not winning a game and not getting on the pitch.

“I was playing every week at the time for Everton and we finished in the top six of the Premier League.

“Obviously I didn’t get on and I just felt he had some sort of problem with me – but I felt he had a problem with me before the Euros as well as I never played.

“Like I said, I didn’t want to make a big deal about not playing under him, so I kept myself quiet. But I am available to come back now.”

Image courtesy of ybig.ie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

