Dublin Claim 24th All-Ireland Title While Mayo Minors Impress

Dublin v Mayo - GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final

Like that , it was all over.

140 minutes that would forever shape the history and destiny of Mayo GAA culminated in minor success and senior failure as the men from out west were swallowed up by a sea of blue that brought Sam Maguire back to Dublin after a one year absence.

All Ireland Senior Football Final

Dublin 2-12 Mayo 1-14

The Sam Maguire has returned to Dublin for the second time in three years after a one point victory over Mayo saw the boys in blue prevail in yesterday’s All Ireland Final.

Dublin’s ability to convert opportunities proved crucial in the second half as they edged out the westerners in this game  with an excellent brace from Bernard Brogan the main difference between both sides.

Mayo started the game brightest and raced into 0-4 to 0-1 point lead early on, but Dublin struck for a goal when Brogan cleverly flicked the ball over Mayo goalkeeper Rob Hennelly to level matters in the first half.  Mayo continued to add further points, to restore their lead to three points, but this didn’t last long as Dublin reduced the scoreline to a single point at half time. The mistakes by both teams in the first half was clearly evident as Mayo should have taken some easy shots for points rather than giving risky passes, although Dublin seemed to waste a lot of opportunities to score, dropping three efforts short and into the happy gloves of Hennelly.

The game was better in the second half with Dublin taking control of the first ten minutes or so of this half where they out scored Mayo by five points to one. The game swung into Dublin’s favour now as they began to show more sharpness up front. However A high ball into the Dublin area broke nicely for Mayo’s Andy Moran who calmly stroked the ball past Stephen Cluxton and into the Dublin net. Dublin soon responded when a surging run from Denis Bastick carved open the Mayo defence and when Bastick laid the ball off to Brogan , the former footballer of the year made no mistake as he punched the ball home to give Dublin what looked like a comfortable lead.

Both sides exchanged points over the next few minutes but Mayo didn’t seem like breaking through for a second goal. Mayo were mostly relying on frees to keep them in this game and it wasn’t enough as Dublin held on to claim the All Ireland title by a single point.

Overall a deserving victory for Dublin , who should have made easier work of their opponents who looked nothing like the Mayo team that disposed of Donegal and Tyrone enroute to the final.

The long wait for Mayo goes on as their second successive All Ireland Final defeat guarantees their 62 year wait for All Ireland success rumbles on.

Dublin: S Cluxton (0-02, 1 ’45, 1f), P McMahon, R O’Carroll, J Cooper, J McCarthy, G Brennan (0-01), J McCaffrey, MD Macauley, C O’Sullivan (0-01), P Flynn (0-01), C Kilkenny, D Connolly (0-01), P Mannion, P Andrews (0-01), B Brogan (2-03, 0-1f).


Subs: E O’Gara (0-02) for Mannion, Darren Daly for McCaffrey, Dean Rock for Kilkenny, K McManamon for Andrews, D Bastick for Cooper


Mayo: R Hennelly, T Cunniffe, G Cafferkey, C Barrett, L Keegan (0-02), D Vaughan, C Boyle, A O’Shea, S O’Shea (0-01), K McLoughlin, K Higgins (0-01), A Dillon, C O’Connor (0-08, 8f) A Freeman, A Moran (1-2).

All Ireland Minor Football Final

Mayo 2-13 Tyrone 1-13

Mayo won their first All-Ireland MFC title since 1985 with a 2-13 to 1-13 win over Tyrone at Croke Park.


Tyrone led for most of the first half, but Tommy Conroy’s 30th-minute goal sent the westerners in with a 1-04 to 0-06 lead.

They made an explosive start to the second half with a 1-04 salvo, including a Darragh Doherty goal.


The Red Hands narrowed the gap to three with points from Lee Brennan and Conor McKenna, and despite McKenna’s late goal and Tyrone’s never say die attitude, Mayo held on to win.

Will the stars of this Mayo team be the one’s to help bring Sam west in 2014? Or will it be sometime before Mayo reach another All Ireland Final?

Image courtesy of GAA.ie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: