Irish International Rules Panel Announced

Michael Murphy named as Ireland Captain

Irish International Rules manager Paul Earley has confirmed his provisional panel for the upcoming International Rules series with Australia to be played in Cavan and Dublin on October 19 and 26 respectively.

Mayo have the largest single representation on the panel with four followed by Cork, Donegal, Laois and All-Ireland champions Dublin who all have three each.

In total, 15 counties are represented on a panel of 29 that is expected to be cut back next week ahead of the opening test at Kingspan Breffni Park.

Michael Murphy will captain the team and Cork’s Aidan Walsh has been confirmed as the vice-captain for the 2013 series.

Galway, Tyrone and Monaghan have two each selected while Kildare, Derry, Westmeath, Armagh, Louth, Meath and Wexford are also represented. Zach Tuohy (Carlton / Laois) is the only AFL-based player in the panel.

Team manager Paul Earley said: “We are delighted to be able to confirm our training panel for the upcoming series and training has really stepped up in recent weeks with the inclusion of players from both of the All-Ireland finalists.

“We have a great response from players both in coming to join the panel and in training and we are pleased with the progress made to date.

“Injury has prevented a number of players from making this panel but we are very pleased with the group of players we are working with and very much looking forward to the two games.”

The Irish manager confirmed that Kevin McKernan will not be involved despite featuring prominently in the training panel.

The Irish medical team advised that bruising to his knee was likely to be exacerbated by training for both his club and the Irish team.


1. Paddy O’Rourke (Meath)
2. Colm Begley (Laois)
3. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
4. Ciaran Byrne (Louth)
5. Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
6. Paul Conroy (Galway)
7. John Doyle (Kildare)
8. Paul Flynn (Dublin)
9. Finian Hanley (Galway)
10. John Heslin (Westmeath)
11. Darren Hughes (Monaghan)
12. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
13. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
14. Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)
15. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)
16. Niall Morgan (Tyrone)
17. Neil McGee (Donegal)
18. Chrissy McKaigue (Derry)
19. Ciaran McKeever (Armagh)
20. Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)
21. Conor McManus (Monaghan)
22. Ross Munnelly (Laois)
23. Michael Murphy (Donegal) (captain)
24. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)
25. Ciaran Sheehan (Cork)
26. Michael Shields (Cork)
27. Zach Tuohy (Carlton/Laois)
28. Aidan Walsh (Cork) (vice captain)
29. Daithi Waters (Wexford)

Image courtesy of

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: