Late To The Party: Psycho (1960)

Image

This is my second late to the party review, a column where I will take classic, cult and all round respected films I just haven’t seen yet and cross them off my bucket list whilst giving them my honest thoughts, be they disappointment or remarkable. Now all film is subjective so please leave a comment with your opinion, slander my blasphemy or even suggest my next review. In today’s edition I’m going to be reviewing the prototype for every slasher film from Halloween to Scream 4, Alfred Hitchcock’s career gambling and ultimately career defining Psycho (1960).

Firstly let me begin this by saying there is nothing I like more than a great movie psycho. I’m not referring to Freddy, Jason or any of those ridiculous imposters. It’s the likes of John Doe, Patrick Bateman and Hannibal Lecter which have played a huge part in me becoming so passionate about films. Which is why it was unusual that at age 21, I had not seen Psycho. I had a few chances but I procrastinated for years for several reasons. Well I finally watched it. I was hopeful but also skeptical that it either wouldn’t hold up to the grit of modern psycho stories or my knowledge of the ending would take the intrigue out of it. After having watched it I can honestly say its easily one of the best films I have ever seen.

Everything from the acting, the cinematography and the score was nothing short of mesmerizing. I am going to try and review it while trying to give as little away as possible, It is the story of a sheltered man named Norman Bates, the people he encounters and the threatening shadow of his mother. I don’t think I have seen the camera used so artistically without compromising the story telling ever. The score takes on a life of its own almost acting as our narrator throughout the story. Anthony Perkins is the soul of this movie and every scene he was in was captivating and any scene he was missing from was impossible to enjoy as much and that is no disrespect to the plethora of talented performers who make up his supporting cast. I recommend to anyone who has not seen this movie to once finished reading this article, avoid any other information about it and watch this movie the first chance you get. There are very few films I can recommend as highly as this one. It’s vintage in all the right areas and timeless in every other. Hitchcock may be the all time king of directing and this is his crown jewel.

Rating: 10/10

  1. October 17th, 2013

Leave a Reply

