Neil Lennon Describes Hibs’ Tactics As ‘Shocking’

hibs_logo

An angry Neil Lennon criticised the Hibs’ players and match officials after watching his team come from behind to grab a share of the points thanks to a late equaliser from substitute James Forrest at Easter Road yesterday.

After the game Lennon said: “It was shocking – absolutely shocking. Reckless. I’m all for competitive football, no one more than myself, but seriously, they were borderline tackles. I didn’t really say to Pat but I made my feelings pretty clear to the fourth official. I don’t think it was any player target in particular, it was across the board. Without singling players out, the tackle by (Rowan) Vine on (Darnell) Fisher was rugby-esque. We’ve got a big Champions League game and I’m not asking any favours, I don’t mind teams being competitive, and the physicality of the game was good but I felt it was over the top. My opinion may be different from Pat’s, he’ll say he sent his team out to get in our faces and I don’t mind that at all, but the ref should take more of a grip on it sometimes.”

When told than Neil Lennon had complained about a few of the challenges from the Hibs’ players, Fenlon responded: “Good that means the message is getting across to my players that we want to compete and get into people’s faces, but he (Lennon) is entitled to his opinion.

“Our shape was good today. We changed it a little bit with James Collins out and Owain Tudur Jones sitting in front of out back four because we knew Celtic would get a lot of players central which they do and even their wide players come in and play a lot, so we had to nullify that. I think most of the tackles were fair. I think there was one in the first half that they moaned about, but it was a good tackle. When you watch it, it’s a real good challenge. That’s part of the game and you just have to get on with it. Everyone has different opinions.

“I am delighted with my team. We worked tremendously hard, we’ve been at Celtic and made sure they knew they had been in a game and we also played some decent football as well.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

