Thor: The Dark World

 

Image

I personally am a massive comic book fan, especially Marvel comics. My top 20 favourite films mainly consist of gritty noir films, art house independents and cult classics. However the real exception to this trend would be Avengers Assemble which I can safely say is the most enjoyable movie I have ever seen. The first time I saw it was genuinely one of the most exciting and brilliant experiences of my life. I enjoyed it more than any of my birthdays and any Christmas day ever. I realize how pathetic that may sound but its the truth. So naturally you imagine I would be very excited for Thor: The Dark World. I was and I wasn’t.

Any super hero movie gets me excited. Guardians Of The Galaxy are C list at best super heroes who have a movie coming out in 2015 and I have been actively excited since August 2013 when it was announced. However I was reserved with my expectations going into Thor for one reason … Iron Man 3. Iron Man 3 is an actually pretty well liked movie and was a huge success for Marvel studios however I hate it with a passion. I won’t get into the details of my deep hatred now but it has to be noted it left a poor taste in my mouth and left me skeptical about Thor 2. Well the movie finally came along and it has re-affirmed my faith in the church of Marvel.

The movie features Chris Hemsworth returning as the mighty Thor, protector of the nine realms and successor to the throne of Asgard or for the lay man, the guy in the Avengers with the hammer. Supported by his usual cast of supporting characters most noticeably Loki, the main antagonist from the Avengers and probably the most beloved element of the Thor franchise. They are faced with the threat of Malekith, the accursed, a dark elf who wants to plunge the world into a new age of darkness. Overall the movie is pretty strong. It’s a well paced fantasy adventure which continues the path established in the first, and still superior, Thor film. There were some annoying elements. Any scene involving the two interns of Jane Foster are forced comedy and add nothing to the film except a way to eat up time. The villain, portrayed by Christopher Eccleston, is pretty bland as he is mostly forced to speak in Elvish and can’t seem to express himself facially with all his make up. He cant really hold a candle to Loki who really is the strongest part of this movie. His progression through the story is very interesting and any scene he is not in suffers from his absence.

The movie is pretty entertaining and progresses Thor’s story along well but by no means blew me out of the water. It also has some surprisingly brilliant moments that I don’t want to spoil but feature a noticeable Irish face. For me, the good most definitely out weighed the bad and I would recommend Thor: The Dark World to any fans of fun movies and is suitable for families and older audiences alike. The most important thing I can take away from the film is that I can trust Marvel studios again and hopefully they can continue to improve into Captain America: The Winter Soldier, which comes out in April.

(PS. Stay for the two after credits scenes as they have a big bearing on the Marvel universe going forward)

Movie Rating: 6.5/10

  1. Weird how this felt like a summer blockbuster, right at the beginning of November. But it didn’t bother me, because it was still worth watching. Nice review John.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

