Dunne Wasting No Time As Galway FC Prepare For 2014

td

Tommy Dunne continues to talk to players and hopes to announce signings for Galway FC very soon.

With pre-season training due to commence in mid January Dunne is hoping to have about 30 footballers involved with Galway FC by then.“It has been a really busy week since I came in. I’ve been trying to establish a possible squad that will be around up until the end of pre-season. Then we might try to whittle it down a little bit more,” Dunne said.

“I’ve brought in Adrian Craddock on the fitness side of things. He was involved with Mervue. I’ve heard good things and he is going to come in. I intend to contact around 30 players. I want to get them in and get them on off season programmes so that we can tick that box.

“I am not saying all 30 players will be in the group come the start of the season, but we have to get them in to put them on those programmes. They are probably a week or two behind other clubs so we have to implement that as quickly as we can. Then I suppose it is a case of looking at backroom staff and other things in general. Mid January we plan to be back and ready to go.”

The positive reaction of those who featured in the Mervue United and Salthill Devon shirts has encouraged former Cork City manager Dunne. “Those who I have spoken to all seem to want to come on board. I think they know that it is an exciting time for Galway football. A lot of them were with Mervue and Salthill primarily, most who I have talked to.

“Galway for me was famous when I was playing coming down to play Galway United. The Galway name is always going to excite people. We just have to try to get moving and be competitive. These lads are very excited about it.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

