Gearóid Morrissey Re-Signs For Cork City

ccfc

Cork City have announced that Gearóid Morrissey has signed a new contract with the club.

The midfielder netted two league goals last season, a statistic he is keen to improve on, and he told CorkCityFC.ie that he was looking forward to the season ahead: “I’m glad it is sorted now and I can focus on the season ahead. I know sometimes you have to do what is needed for the team, but I want to nail down a place in the centre of midfield and score more goals.”

“I’m really excited about what John has in mind for the coming season. I think he is determined and the signings he has made show that. I think next year is going to be really good. The sky is the limit. Why can’t we be challenging for all of the cups and the league? I think we are more than capable of having a right good go.”

Commenting on the signing, manager John Caulfield said he believes that Morrissey has the potential to contribute even more to the team in the season ahead: “We all know what a fantastic player he is. He is a top player with great potential, and I hope he will be an even better player than he has been already for us. I fell there is a lot more in his game, I certainly think he can develop and score goals for us from midfield. I know he has played out wide, but I feel that in the centre is where he is at his best and there are a lot of areas where he can improve. He is very skilful and strong, and I think with a bit more coaching on getting him into the box and on finishing he can get goals for us as well.”

Image courtesy of Cork City FC

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

