Turner’s Cross Wins Airtricity League Pitch Of The Year 2014‏


TURNER’S CROSS, home ground of Cork City Football Club, has won the 2014 SSE Airtricity League Pitch of the Year Award, following an inspection by the Irish Institute of Sports Surfaces (IISS). This is the second time that the ground has received this accolade, having been a winner previously in 2011.

The winner of the award was announced following nominations by SSE Airtricity League referees and players, in association with the Professional Footballers Association of Ireland.

The award, which is organised by the FAI and IISS, and sponsored by Greenday Environmental Services, will be presented at a function prior to the FAI Ford Cup Final at Aviva Stadium on November 2.

IISS Managing Director Donal Kearney said: “The Pitch of the Year Award has been created to highlight the hard work of the League clubs and grounds staff, whose dedication and endeavours has often gone unnoticed. We hope that this award provides due recognition which will encourage others to work towards improving the standards of their playing surfaces.  Congratulations to the Munster FA on their achievement and our thanks to Greenday environmental for their support.”

Eamonn McShea CEO of Greenday Environmental, who offer a comprehensive range of drainage services for domestic and commercial sectors throughout all Ireland, added: “Greenday Environmental are delighted to support this award in recognition of the hard work which Clubs and their Groundsmen in the SSE Airtricity League put in all year round.”

Fran Gavin, Director of the SSE Airtricity League said: “I would like to congratulate the Munster FA and Cork City FC on winning this award. It is a just reward for the dedication of the Munster Football Association and their ground staff. It is appropriate that Turner’s Cross has won this award again, and there is no doubt that the on field success at Cork City FC can be attributed in no small part to the condition of the pitch at Turners Cross, and the tireless work of the staff in the MFA in maintaining the pitch to the highest of standards throughout the entire year.  I would also like to thank the players (through the PFAI) and the referees for their assistance in this award. “

Ger Delaney, of the Munster FA said: “The Munster FA is delighted to have won the SSE Airtricity League “Pitch of the Year” award once again. This award is a reflection of our determination to place the condition of the playing surface at the top of its list of priorities at Turners Cross, but most of all it is a credit to the CE Scheme workers and volunteers who work tirelessly to keep the surface in top condition, and I would like to congratulate them.”

Cork City CEO Tim Murphy remarked:  “We are delighted that Turner’s Cross has received this prestigious award. We would like to congratulate our landlords and colleagues in the Munster FA, whose ground staff do excellent work in maintaining the pitch to such a high standard.”

The competition began in 2007 following the takeover of the National League by the Football Association of Ireland. Initially it was known as the Groundsman of the Year Award but was renamed Pitch of the Year in 2009.

The previous winners are:

Groundsman of the Year

2007 – Noel Connolly, Terryland Park

2008 – Noel Connolly, Terryland Park

Pitch of the Year

2009 – The UCD Bowl

2010 – Tallaght Stadium

2011 – Turner’s Cross

2012 – Tallaght Stadium

2013 – Waterford RSC

Image courtesy of

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: