Posts Tagged ‘ RAAP ’

Choice Music Prize Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for this year’s Meteor Choice Music Prize has been announced. Established acts such as Pugwash and Lisa Hannigan are joined by a number of new artists including We Cut Corners and Tieranniesaur. According to Paddy Power, the latter are third favourites to scoop the coveted award, following Cashier No 9 and And So I Watch You From Afar.

The shortlist was drawn up by a panel of people who work in the music industry including Naomi McCardle (Harmless Noise), Ed Power (Irish Independent), Lauren Murphy (The Irish Times) and Nadine O’Regan (Phantom FM).

All the nominees are due to perform at the awards ceremony concert in The Olympia Theatre, Dublin on Thursday, 8 March. Tickets for the gig will go on sale this Friday.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize funded by the Irish Music Rights Organisation and the Irish Recorded Music Association. All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially-commissioned award statuette, courtesy of the Recorded Artists Actors & Performers Ltd.

The prize was set up by Irish Times music journalist Jim Carroll and industry manager Dave Reid in 2005. Previous winners include Two Door Cinema Club, Adrian Crowley and The Divine Comedy.

The full shortlist:
And So I Watch You From Afar – Gangs (Richter Collective)
Bell X1 – Bloodless Coup (Belly Up Records)
Cashier No 9 – To The Death Of Fun (Bella Union)
Lisa Hannigan – Passenger (Hoop Records)
The Japanese Popstars – Controlling Your Allegiance (EMI)
Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)
Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Golden Syrup (Osaka Records)
Pugwash – The Olympus Sound (EMI/1969 Records)
Tieranniesaur – Tieranniesaur (Popical Island)
We Cut Corners – Today I Realised I Could Go Home Backwards (Delphi)